Philips N1501

Ook op TV en videogebied heeft Philips diverse hoogstandjes op zijn naam staan. Denk aan VCR, Video2000 en de diverse onverwoestbare TV chassis. Al het tele-gebabbel kan hier plaatsvinden!

Moderator: Moderators

OldieSt

25 apr 2016, 18:17

Hallo,

Sorry, I don't speak Dutch, I hope that you understand me in English.

Since last summer I have an N1501, a friend of my father gave me this present with some tapes... :dance:

It's a machine of January 1976, and to today I didn't dare to start it because I only had time to clean it carefully inside and outside. The belts were replaced too. It was a hard task. To my surprise it works, but not as good as I was expected. The bulbs shine correctly. When I plug it in the head-drum and the play motors turn without control, without pressing any button. Exactly the same trying to press the On and Off buttons. It doesn't perform to anything.

I downloaded its service manual and I have some knowledge of electronics. What could I do?

Thanks in advance. Regards.
OldieSt

30 apr 2016, 13:12

Hi again,

I would like to show you what happens when I start the recorder... It ignores me when I press any button, and the thread-motor doesn't turn, it makes a little noise but I think that it doesn't gear well.

It seems that the machine runs very fast, like in the fast forward mode (see the counter, it stops when I set "rewind"). The noise comes from the right fan...

Can anybody help me??

rini

30 apr 2016, 19:04

Hi,

The machine should also ignore you when you plug it in.
When you push power it should start, not sooner than that.

The switches on the right side of the cassette compartment are at fault.
Warning, there is line voltage on some of the switches, proceed only when comfortable with
old electronics!

Here is a video about the mods i have made to the machine.
As ut neet kapot is moi ut niet maak'n!
OldieSt

03 sep 2016, 22:14

rini schreef:Hi,

The machine should also ignore you when you plug it in.